Hidden – Emma Kavanagh

A gripping psychological thriller by a former police psychologist. Perfect for fans of Nicci French, Tana French and S. J. Watson.

HE’S WATCHING

A gunman is stalking the wards of a local hospital. He’s unidentified and dangerous, and has to be located. Urgently.

Police Firearms Officer Aden McCarthy is tasked with tracking him down. Still troubled by the shooting of a schoolboy, Aden is determined to make amends by finding the gunman – before it’s too late.

SHE’S WAITING

To psychologist Imogen, hospital should be a place of healing and safety – both for her, and her young niece who’s been recently admitted. She’s heard about the gunman, but he has little to do with her. Or has he?

As time ticks down, no one knows who the gunman’s next target will be. But he’s there. Hiding in plain sight. Far closer than anyone thinks…

This was my first ntroduction to Emma Kavanagh and I came across her book on Pinterest.

This is a story that grips you from the first sentence, it draws you in quite suddenly with a violent jerk into a massacre of bodies and bloody scenes told from a survivors point of view, you have no idea what is happening or more to the point the why but you know damn sure you need to keep reading to find out.

I am a fan of this exposure to a story and especially a new author I have yet to explore the works of.  I found it difficult to process each time frame in my head in relation to the next because I was too keen to read the chapter but at no point was I ever confused I was swept through the book page by page riding the back of a tsunami thundering along towards the shore, never wanting to pause a minute or stop reading.

I was convinced I knew the killer’s identity, absolutely certain I had it right, Kavanaugh presented a handful of suspects, steering the reader a predictable way building a very strong case around that one in particular….but atlas I was wrong and gosh was I shocked it wasn’t them.

I found I didn’t have a favourite character although there were parts of the main characters I didn’t like and this influenced me against them as a whole. I disliked characters more so than liked them finding their behaviour irritating and unjust. I thought it very clever writing that each were entwined together and some without the realisation they were.

The underlying story felt sad and with everyone feeling slightly broken I was rooting for a positive happy ending. On finishing the story I felt exhausted but satisfied and immediately purchased both the Falling and The Affair.

Is really does make you question the kind of people who really are hidden in plain sight and exactly what they are hiding from

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s