Sea Green – Alice Smithers

A novel of new beginnings with complicated twists, drawing on figures from the past, the wonders of the mid-Wales landscape and intriguing romantic association, interleaved by the world of commerce, antiques and a lot of tea drinking: 

 
An impulsive Georgia Middleton launches phase two of her adult life, selecting an entirely new framework – city to countryside, landlocked to shoreline, married to single… Securing a modest Victorian villa on the edge of Cardigan Bay, expectant of a pleasant new existence beside the sea, she instead faces a perilous tailspin of events. She accepts a post with an unremarkable business in a small Welsh town and becomes unwittingly embroiled in political undercurrents. 
 
Turning to local activity for inspiration and new associations, this too brings complication. These conspiracies are strengthened by a stranger with an unaccountable obsession of her movements and not least, by her own unavoidable attraction to a casual acquaintance of cavalier mentality and burning charisma.  Best put the kettle on.

 

This is a delightful debut novel by Alice Smithers, I read the book in print, which for me is very rare, therefore I really could appreciate the beautiful, simple but bold front cover. The book consists of 297 excellent quality pages laid out in an elegant type face. This print was high quality and a good weight. Not forgetting that gorgeous book smell, which is lost with a kindle.

This is a novel about new beginnings and finding a place within a small community. Set in a beautiful part of the world in rural wales the story unfolds amongst the hills and landscape of idyllic houses, quaint antique treasure troves, sublime beaches and a family history to add to the mix.

As much as I was drawn to the cover and the book synopsis I found Smithers writing style a tad drawn out for my liking, it didn’t flow fast enough for me. What I did appreciate though was the variety of introduced characters and the whole piece around the play, I really enjoyed the plot around this and anything that involves arts and dramatics of any kind receives a massive thumbs up from me.

Learning about Georgia Middleton’s life outside of work keep me riveted, I enjoyed the little drama and the friendships she created as she tried to make a new life for herself within the village, I didn’t overly care for the storyline around her work environment and the characters around these scenes, her manager simply infuriated me and his wife, well, how he didn’t strangle her….that said to evoke these emotions clearly shows a clever piece of writing.

I particularly enjoyed watching the slow burning romance between Jack and Georgia grow, it was warming to watch how it built Georgia’s confidence allowing her to relax within herself and accept her own skin. My favourite line of the whole book was after Georgia got caught in a freak wave, soaked to the bone, Jack appearing at her side and bellowing against the thunderous sea screaming…

“There’s no other way of asking – would you like to come up to my flat and take off your clothes?”

I was chuckling out loud on my commute home.

Smithers introduced an easy going storyline with an accumulation of varied characters and a budding romance. This really was a lovely little read and I know the perfect person I will be recommending this book to next, the relationship with Ernie was delightful! we all need an Ernie.

and of course, you can’t beat a good teapot with copious amounts of tea, tea is the cure for everything, so grab a cuppa and begin this book….

Leave a Reply

