Little Boy Blue – M. J. Arlidge

Detective Inspector Helen Grace is no stranger to tragedy. But when a body is found in a Southampton nightclub, the death cuts too close to the bone. Hiding her personal connection to the victim – and a double-life which must remain secret at all costs – Helen becomes a woman possessed, working her team around the clock to chase down every lead.

As the killer strikes again, the investigation takes its toll not only on Helen but also her senior officers. Tempers flare, friendships fray and Helen faces an impossible choice. Confess her sins and lose control of the case? Or keep living a lie, protecting her darkest secrets, and risk getting trapped in this tangled web?

But whatever she does, this killer will not stop until the truth is revealed: there are some fates worse than death . . .

 

Praise for Matthew Arlidge and his wonderful novel Little Boy Blue. Detective Inspector Helen Grace is a marvel, a strong edgy character with a lot of presence, stature and a few hidden secrets that make her even more likable. She is a girl with a dark side and dark it is. The cover of all his novels are clean and concise yet beautifully effective, reminding me very much of Sebastian Fitzek or James Patterson presentation of novels.

I really loved the underbelly of the BDSM scene, it was also a strong theme, highlighting how human we all are and how we have desires regardless of roles, martial status or positions in society

This was the first novel I have read and reviewed by M. J. Arlidge, at no point did I feel I needed to have read any of the previous four Helen Grace series, although I feel it may have had more of a shocking impact if I had have done. I never felt I didn’t understand or have any idea of what was happening and I was riveted throughout.

Little Boy Blue is most certainly a thriller, throwing you one way and twisting you the next, a host of complex characters surprising me in one way or another and sub characters which I felt were just as strong and a part of the story as the main ones. I really loved the underbelly of the BDSM scene, it was also a strong theme, highlighting how human we all are and how we have desires regardless of roles, martial status or positions in society yet it wasn’t crude, sexual or erotic to read, which would not have been unwelcome, but for those readers who find it uncomfortable it was just enough, after all this is labelled a thriller not erotica but the balance worked very well indeed. I found the subject matter and some of the characters very brave and almost taboo for many but with his superb gripping writing Arlidge did an excellent job with his delivery.

Detective Inspector Helen Grace is a marvel, a strong edgy character with a lot of presence, stature and a few hidden secrets that make her even more likable.

Reading Little Boy Blue has certainly given me the appetite to want to read the rest of the series. I believe Arlidge to be defined as a talented writer with prose that keeps you engaged, captivated and totally engrossed. Another feature I preferred is the unpredictable size of the chapters I could just ‘sneak’ another short one in, even in a rush because I they were short. The length of these chapters determined how fast I read the book but once I began I was addicted and failed to put it down for long. When I did pick it back up the flowing words assist in a fast paced easy read creating an atmospheric journey to the final climax.

The way the story came together was cleverly done and beautifully executed. I recommend this book and author and have a feeling that Arlidge could be the next Karen Rose, James Patterson, Lee Child, or Harlan Coben, I envisage plenty of success for his talent.

Leave a Reply

