Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent

The last people who expect to be meeting with a drug-addicted prostitute are a respected judge and his reclusive wife. And they certainly don’t plan to kill her and bury her in their exquisite suburban garden.

Yet Andrew and Lydia Fitzsimons find themselves in this unfortunate situation.

While Lydia does all she can to protect their innocent son Laurence and their social standing, her husband begins to falls apart.

But Laurence is not as naïve as Lydia thinks. And his obsession with the dead girl’s family may be the undoing of his own.

Today Lydia Fitzsimons has been on my mind, along with her smothered son Laurence and Karen Fenton, the sister of Annie Doyle. I am still reeling from the conclusion of Lying in Wait, I am stunned on so many levels as to how the finale played out.

This was the first book I have read by Nugent. I do own a copy of Unravelling Oliver and look forward to cracking the spine on that one.  There is something wonderful about Nugent’s writing style. She also writes in first person, which I tend to gravitate towards and much prefer because I feel the emotion much more prominent and relate to the situations as though I am living them myself. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story from three-point of views.

I am still reeling from the conclusion of Lying in Wait, I am stunned on so many levels as to how the finale played out.

My favourite character was Karen. Her committment to finding her sister was outstanding. As a character her whole persona was of kindness and compassion, the angel to her devilish sisters ways, with a warm heart and a positive determination she soared above the rest of the cast and that was regardless of the fact that she was so very beautiful. I enjoyed her short journey to fame and watching how she expressed herself when things didn’t necessarily go to plan.

I despised Lydia, everything about her sickened me to the core, she was a toxic mother smothering her only child to the point of pushing him away and she only got worse as we venture further into the book.  Her love for Laurence is unhealthy to the point of destruction with a very selfish streak which caused all of the trouble from the outset. I can assure you that reading about Lydia’s antics will have you shaking your head in disbelief.

I wasn’t overly keen on Laurence, albeit as a character he was very well-developed but he was ‘wet behind the ears’ and too influenced by the crushing protection of his mothers love to actually ‘be a man’ He is a very key character to the book which we, as readers, don’t realise until he is well and truly embroiled.

I despised Lydia, everything about her sickened me to the core, a toxic mother in the making

This is a very thought-provoking story with an excellent plotline and expertly written. I certainly recommend it and look forward to reading Nugent’s debut novel.

I have found this very hard to review without giving anything away, I suggest you read it and discover for yourself what everyone else is stunned into silence by.

Leave a Reply

