Blue Gold – David Barker

 

The near future. Climate change and geopolitical tension have given rise to a new international threat – a world war for water. This most vital of resources has become a precious commodity and some will stop at nothing to control its flow.

When a satellite disappears over Iceland, Sim Atkins thinks he knows why. He is given the chance to join the hallowed Overseas Division and hunt for the terrorists responsible. But his new partner Freda Brightwell is aggrieved to be stuck with a rookie on such a deadly mission.

Freda’s misgivings are well founded when their first assignment ends in disaster – a bomb destroys a valuable airship and those responsible evade capture. Seeking redemption, the British agents follow the trail to a billionaires’ tax haven in the middle of the Atlantic ocean and uncover a web of deceit that threatens global war. Whom can they trust

As the world edges ever closer to destruction Sim and Freda must put their lives on the line to prevent Armageddon – and protect the future of ‘blue gold’.

This book was one of the scientific kind of those set in the future hunting for a new kind of treasure to the norm.

Between the lines of the main plot, beyond all of the sci-fi and treasure hunting was a story of a lost man looking for a better version of himself, chasing a dream he thought he had and hoping to find his answers amist the action. This is what drew me into the story

I’m not sure it was my kind of read, certainly not a ‘go to’ genre for me.  I found I struggled a little because of this but that didn’t detract it from being a good story.

I have found myself rethinking about Blue Gold, now that I have finished reading it, not necessarily the plot or the chapters but the characters. They made the story worth reading and kept me captivated.

I rushed through the more ‘historical chapters’ to get to the present day I felt hungry for, I was following Freda and Sim on their epic adventure everything else blended into the background, they were my story and had my full attention.

I believe it to be clever writing when characters are strong enough to haunt you thereafter the last page has been consumed and the story concluded

Barker’s development of his main characters at the very least was wholesome and rounded. They had history, presence and purpose. His side characters, most certainly Rabten stood proud within the novel. The loyalty shown by him is honourable and helps ties together the loose ends, bringing the conclusion to a close.

I love a story where everything comes together at the end

Due to the fact I struggled with reading the novel I felt relief when I finished, not because it was poor but because it wasn’t my style of book – yet – I found myself drawn to reading the sample of the next book ‘Rose Gold’ and wanting to know more. That is a sign of a very well written novel.

Leave a Reply

